In North Carolina, reckless driving occurs when any person who drives upon a highway or public vehicular area carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others. It can also occur when a person without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or likely to endanger any person or property. Under North Carolina Law, there is not specificity of what "carelessly and heedlessly" means for purposes of this charge. You can be charged with Reckless Driving for a few different reasons including but not limited to: running a red light, running through a stop sign, illegal passing, tailgating, highway racing, swerving aggressively and failing to yield where yielding is required.
Additionally, in North Carolina Reckless Driving can be issued based upon Speeding based upon the speed limit of the area that you are traveling. Typically, in North Carolina operating a motor vehicle at 15 miles over the speed limit can be considered Reckless Driving. This means that in addition to a Speeding Ticket an officer can issue a citation for Reckless Driving.
When dealing with a citation for Reckless Driving it is important to note the effects that this offense can have on your Driving Record. A conviction of Reckless Driving will result in 4 points on your Driver's license and it is important to note that in a 3-year period the accumulation of 12 driver's license points will result in your license being suspended for up to 12 months. Furthermore, Reckless Driving in North Carolina can be found under N.C.G.S. § 20-140 and is considered a Class 2 Misdemeanor.