NORTH CAROLINA THEFT AND PROPERTY OFFENSES

Theft and Property Crimes are very common charges that individuals face. Although property crimes are considered to be less serious than crimes against another person, individuals still face very serious consequences. North Carolina has several statutes and laws that protect individual's personal property from theft and damage done by other individuals. If charged with a Theft or Property offense, you could be facing jail time and/or penalties.

In North Carolina, theft laws contain a multitude of different types of felony and misdemeanor crimes. The class of the theft offense that an individual can be charged with is most likely determined by the value of the property involved. Some of the other variances and factors that can be used to determine the class of the theft offense are whether there was threat of violence or if a firearm or other deadly weapon was used.

Larceny of Property

In North Carolina, larceny of property is the taking of personal property of another without consent with the intent to permanently deprive them while having the knowledge that it was not theirs to take. The punishment for larceny of property is based upon the the value of the goods. The breakdown of the potential punishment for larceny of property is the following:

  • Larceny of property that have a value of $1,000 or less is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
  • Larceny of property that have a value of more than a $1,000 is a Class H Felony.

Possession of Stolen Goods

In North Carolina, one can be charged possession of stolen goods if the person possesses stolen property, has knowledge or reasonable grounds to believe that the property was stolen. The punishment for possession of stolen goods is based upon the value of the goods. The breakdown of the potential punishment for possession of stolen goods is the following:

  • Possession of Stolen Goods that have a value of $1,000 or less is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
  • Possession of Stolen Goods that have a value of more than a $1,000 is a Class H Felony.

Receiving Stolen Goods

In North Carolina, one can be charged receiving stolen goods if the person receives or conceals property that stolen by another and has knowledge or reasonable grounds to believe that the property was stolen. The punishment for possession of stolen goods is based upon the value of the goods. The breakdown of the potential punishment for receiving stolen goods is the following:

  • Receiving Stolen Goods that have a value of $1,000 or less is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
  • Receiving Stolen Goods that have a value of more than a $1,000 is a Class H Felony.

Shoplifting (Concealment of Merchandise)

In North Carolina, shoplifting is committed when a person conceals the goods or merchandize of any store, without the owner's consent, and before any purchase is made with the intent to permanently deprive that store of the property. Generally, to be charged with Shoplifting (Concealment of Merchandise), the Shoplifter is caught while currently still be in the store. In General, the breakdown below shows the potential punishment based upon the prior charges:

First ConvictionClass 3 Misdemeanor
Second Conviction(committed within 3 years of the original conviction)Class 2 Misdemeanor
Third Conviction (committed within 5 years of the original conviction)Class 1 Misdemeanor

Larceny of Goods

In North Carolina, larceny of goods is the more serious of shoplifting and occurs when a person conceals the goods or merchandize of any store, without the owner's consent, and before any purchase is made with the intent to permanently deprive that store of the property. Generally, to be charged with Larceny of Goods, the Shoplifter leaves the premises of the store and removed the items from the store. In General, the breakdown below shows the potential punishment based upon the prior charges:
Larceny of goods that have a value of $1,000 or less is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Larceny of goods that have a value of more than a $1,000 is a Class H Felony.

If you are charged with a Theft or Property Offense

Arrested or cited for a theft or property offense? Hall & Dixon Law, PLLC can help. Our attorneys know the ins and outs of North Carolina's Theft and Property Offense laws. We'll examine the details of your case carefully and make sure all proper procedure was followed during your arrest or citation. If we find any evidence that can be used in support of your defense, we'll make note of it and present it in court.

You can rely on us to negotiate with the judge on your behalf and do everything possible to reduce the effects of a conviction. Schedule a consultation for your Theft or Property Offense charge by calling 704-993-6825.

Get in touch with Hall & Dixon Law to learn more.