North Carolina Marijuana Offenses

Need a Criminal Defense Attorney in Charlotte, NC?

Possession of Marijuana

One of the most common misdemeanor drug offenses in North Carolina is Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana. Most of the charges for Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana often occurs after a traffic stop is commenced. These violations include but are not limited to, Expired Registration and Tags, Speeding, and Driving While license is revoked. Officers are likely to approach your vehicle in order to conduct the traffic stop and inform you that they have smelled the odor of marijuana. Often, officers are given probable cause to search your vehicle and quite possibly your person if they do smell the odor of marijuana.
Due to this search of your vehicle, if there is marijuana that is found then you could receive a citation for Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana or you could be arrested for Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana.
In North Carolina, Marijuana is classified as a Schedule VI Controlled Substance and carries penalties that vary depending upon the amount that is found on an individual. The amounts are based upon the following:

  • Possession of ½ ounce of marijuana or less is a Class 3 Misdemeanor and carries a punishment of a fine up to $200 and up to 30 days in jail.
  • Possession of more than ½ ounce but less than 1.5 ounces of marijuana is a Class 1 Misdemeanor and carries a fine up to $500 and up to 45 days in jail.
  • Possession of more than a 1.5 ounce of marijuana but less than 10 pounds of marijuana is a Class I Felony and carries a fine up to $1,000 and up to 8 months in jail.

Arrested or cited for Possession of Marijuana? Hall & Dixon, PLLC can help. Our attorneys know the ins and outs of North Carolina’s Possession of Marijuana laws. We’ll examine the details of your case carefully and make sure all proper procedure was followed during your arrest or citation. If we find any evidence that can be used in support of your defense, we’ll make note of it and present it in court.
You can rely on us to negotiate with the judge on your behalf and do everything possible to reduce the effects of a conviction. Schedule a consultation for your Possession of Marijuana charge by calling 704-993-6825.
Get in touch with Hall & Dixon to learn more.
 

Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana Drug Paraphernalia

In North Carolina, Possession of Marijuana Drug Paraphernalia is a Class 3 Misdemeanor and is defined as being unlawful for any person to knowingly use, or to possess with intent to use, drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, package, repackage, store, contain, or conceal marijuana or to inject, ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce marijuana into the body.

Arrested or cited for Possession of Marijuana Drug Paraphernalia? Hall & Dixon, PLLC can help. Our attorneys know the ins and outs of North Carolina’s Possession of Marijuana Drug Paraphernalia laws. We’ll examine the details of your case carefully and make sure all proper procedure was followed during your arrest or citation. If we find any evidence that can be used in support of your defense, we’ll make note of it and present it in court.

You can rely on us to negotiate with the judge on your behalf and do everything possible to reduce the effects of a conviction. Schedule a consultation for your Possession of Marijuana Drug Paraphernalia charge by calling 704-993-6825.

Get in touch with Hall & Dixon Law to learn more.

Possession with Intent to Sell and Deliver of Marijuana

In North Carolina, Possession with Intent to Sale or Delivery of Marijuana is a Felony and the categories are based upon the following:

  • If an individual exchange any amount of marijuana for other property then it would be considered a “Sell” and is a Class H Felony
  • If individual delivers more than 5 grams of Marijuana then it would be considered a “Delivery” and is a Class I Felony


Arrested for Possession with Intent to Sell or Deliver of Marijuana? Hall & Dixon, PLLC can help. Our attorneys know the ins and outs of North Carolina’s Possession with Intent to Sell and Deliver of Marijuana laws. We’ll examine the details of your case carefully and make sure all proper procedure was followed during your arrest or citation. If we find any evidence that can be used in support of your defense, we’ll make note of it and present it in court.

You can rely on us to negotiate with the judge on your behalf and do everything possible to reduce the effects of a conviction. Schedule a consultation for your Possession with Intent to Sell and Deliver of Marijuana charge by calling 704-993-6825.

Get in touch with Hall & Dixon to learn more.

Drug Trafficking Marijuana

In North Carolina, Trafficking Marijuana is a Felony and carries penalties that vary depending upon the amount that is found on an individual. The amounts are based upon the following:

  • Trafficking Marijuana in excess of 10 pounds but less than 50 pounds is a Class H Felony and carries a penalty of $5,000 and up to 39 months in jail.
  • Trafficking Marijuana in excess of 50 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds is a Class G Felony and carries a penalty of $25,000 and up to 51 months in jail.
  • Trafficking Marijuana in excess of 2,000 pounds but less than 10,000 pounds is a Class F Felony and carries a penalty of $50,000 and up to 93 months in jail.
  • Trafficking Marijuana in excess of 10,000 or more is a Class H Felony and carries a penalty of $200,000 and up to 222 months in jail.


Arrested or cited for Drug Trafficking? Hall & Dixon, PLLC can help. Our attorneys know the ins and outs of North Carolina’s Drug Trafficking of Marijuana laws. We’ll examine the details of your case carefully and make sure all proper procedure was followed during your arrest or citation. If we find any evidence that can be used in support of your defense, we’ll make note of it and present it in court.

You can rely on us to negotiate with the judge on your behalf and do everything possible to reduce the effects of a conviction. Schedule a consultation for your Drug Trafficking of Marijuana charge by calling 704-993-6825.