In North Carolina, about 60 days before your vehicle’s registration expires, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles will mail to the address on record a renewal notice that shows the outstanding vehicle’s registration renewal fee as well as any vehicle property taxes that are due. Both of these things can be paid online as well as by mail or at an North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicle license plate agency. After an individual renews the vehicle’s registration, a new registration card and sticker will be mailed within 7-10 business days.
Under North Carolina law, Expired Registration and Tags is a Class 3 Misdemeanor and is by far the most common type of registration violation that is charged as a criminal offense in the state. The effects of a conviction would harm your criminal record and can be avoided by hiring our attorney’s. Other offenses that are similar in nature are revoked registration, fictitious or altered registration, no registration, and lending a plate. These charges are also Class 3 Misdemeanors.
Violations of N.C.G.S. § 20-111 can result in a conviction that can be avoided by correcting the issue with the violation. It is not as simple as it may seem to be and our attorneys are well aware of the consequence and can help you avoid a conviction.
Additionally operating a motor vehicle without financial responsibility is a Class 3 Misdemeanor. A violation under N.C.G.S. § 20-313 occurs when an owner or driver of a motor vehicle is operating a motor vehicle in the State without having in full force and effect the financial responsibility required under North Carolina Law. Our attorneys are very knowledgeable in the effects of these charges and violations and can help protect your criminal record from these charges.