North Carolina Drug Laws

North Carolina Drug Laws are some of the strictest in the country and convictions can carry with them very severe consequences. If you or someone that you know has been charged with a drug crime, it is very important to see the advice of a criminal defense attorney to ensure that your rights are protected. The North Carolina Controlled Substances Act specifically lists six different schedule (or classes) of drugs that are illegal in North Carolina.

Schedule I drugs potentially have a high likelihood of abuse and had no medical use. Some Schedule I drugs include: Heroin, Ecstasy, and Opiates. Sentencing for a first offense under this Schedule is a Class 1 felony, accompanied with 4-5 months of active jail time.

Schedule II drugs also have a high likelihood of abuse, but may be used for medical purposes in very limited circumstances. Schedule II drugs include: Methamphetamine, Methadone, Cocaine, Codeine, Hydrocodone, Morphine, and Ritalin. Sentencing for first time offenders is a Class 1 Misdemeanor with a chance of 45 days of active jail time. A second time offender is looking at a Class 1 Felony with 4-5 months of active jail time.

Schedule III drugs have a less likelihood of abuse and has more medical acceptance. Schedule III drugs include: Anabolic Steroids and Ketamine. Sentencing for first time offenders is the same as a Schedule II drug--a Class 1 Misdemeanor with a chance of 45 days of active jail time. A second time offender is looking at a Class 1 Felony with 4-5 months of active jail time.

Schedule IV drugs have a low likelihood for abuse and are commonly used for medical abuse. Schedule IV drugs include: Clonazepam, Valium, and Xanax. Sentencing for first time offenders is a Class 1 Misdemeanor with a chance of 45 days of active jail time. A second time offender is looking at a Class 1 Felony with 4-5 months of active jail time.

Schedule V drugs also have a low likelihood for abuse and are used for medical use. Schedule V drugs include things such as over the counter medicine with codeine. Sentencing for a first time offender is a Class 2 Misdemeanor with a chance of 30 days active jail time. A second time offender is facing a Class 1 Misdemeanor with a chance of 45 days active jail time.

Schedule VI drugs have the lowest likelihood of abuse and have no medical use. Schedule VI drugs include: Hash and Marijuana. A first time offender is facing a Class 3 Misdemeanor with a chance of 10 days in jail. Sentencing for a second time offender is a Class 2 Misdemeanor with a chance of 30 days of active jail time. You can find out more about Marijuana Charges HERE